Castles and Bunkers

Today I really felt like I hit my stride biking wise. Although my legs and butt bones were both very sore, I felt delightfully comfortable on my shining  steed.

image

I got a relaxed 1030am start from the campground where the lake was as placid as ever.

image

By 11 I had covered almost 15km and reached my first sight of the day, the awesome ruins of the Cornštein (tsorn-shtine) Castle.

image

Luckily this castle I could visit on my own, so I spent half an hour exploring every nook and cranny, then set off again.

image

Not long after, I passed another awesome looking castle Hrad Bitov,  but alas it was too far out of my way.

image

I climbed my way back out of the river valley and linked back up with the Prague-Vienna Greenway path which I’ve been following for most of the trip.

image

The rest of the day’s riding took me through some gorgeous rolling fields dotted with bunkers that formed the Maginot line, built before WW2 to defend against a German invasion.

image

They’re literally all over the place. I must have passed one every 200 meters or so for the last 20km of my ride.

image

All of that work was for nothing though, as they were never put to use. Hitler ended up bypassing the entire defence network.

image

This one was so close I couldn’t resist the urge to go in and poke around a bit.

image

It was a tiny, oppressive little space with holes just big enough for the barrel of a gun.

image

After a pretty relaxed 50km total of riding I rolled into my destination for the night, the charming town of Slavonice.

image

It’s best known for its architecture that includes beautiful facades with detailed depictions and ornate vaults dating back to the renaissance.

image

Now I’m heading off to my host for the night, a janitor who is building an off-road motocross course and has helped developed part of the off-road cycling paths around Slavonice.

One thought on “Castles and Bunkers

  1. Martha says:

    Wow so most of the biking route is intended for biking? The sights are so spectacular, the bldgs so old; your city for the night, Slovanice, is beautiful w the elaborate vaulted ceilings. It sounds as if you have chosen interesting couch surf hosts. Are you keeping a journal? Your reflections would be wonderful to hear about down the road.

Leave a Reply

