Prague

Day 1

image

I took a lot of pictures in Prague, so I’ll let them do most of the talking.

image

The first day I walked all around the south and west of the city for 5 or 6 hours and enjoyed some beautiful views and the breathtaking sunset above.

image

A modern cathedral supposedly built to resemble Noah's arc

image

A renowned Czech graffiti artist, the Czech Banksy if you will, put sculptures of babies crawling up this retro space-age looking radio tower.

image

Sculpture on Charles Bridge, the oldest bridge in the Czech Republic

Day 2

image

Day 2 I took a 3 hour long tour that was mildly interesting but met a couple of cool fellow travelers.

image

In the peacock palace!

image

After the tour I walked around for the rest of the day and saw the castle complex with its spired cathedral.

image

I also had a lovely walk through the castle gardens where I was pleased to find that every tree of note had a sign detailing its origins and common characteristics. The arborist in me was overjoyed.

image

Future fig trees!

image

Returning to my very low-key hostel that night I met two Canadians, an American who currently lives in Boston, and an Australian.

image

I hit it off especially well with the Aussie and the fellow Bostonian as we searched in vain through the wet and rain to find a beer garden supposedly open late into the night.

Day 3

image

On the third day I walked around with my newly made Aussie friend and hit up a monastery brewery where we had what we both agreed was the best beer in the Czech Republic. After making my way around the country for 2 weeks trying my fair share of beer, I feel like that’s actually saying something.

image

Wannabe Eiffel tower

image

image

Brewing diagram from the incredible Monastery brewery on the hill

After the monastery, we walked to the island that the penguins below are pointing to. We stumbled upon a rope obstacle course there and of course took a thirty minute break from being tourists to act like fools while inventing all manner of crazy ways to traverse it while little children scattered out of our path. 

image

Penguins to infiniti

That night I hit the town with the Boston girl (who’s actually writing a guide of sorts for Harvard where she’s currently studying). I didn’t mind accompanying her to a few bars–all for the sake of her guide writing efforts of course 🙂 — in the up-and-coming Žižkov neighborhood where the hostel was located.

image

Nothing makes an American in Prague smile like a well made burger

Now I’m in Berlin which to be honest I wasn’t super excited about visiting (I found a cheap flight from here to London). But I’m quickly becoming a fan of its quirky international cosmopolitan feel. Perhaps there’s something for me in Germany after all.

One thought on “Prague

  1. Darlen says:

    Beautiful pictures! Sounds like you are having a wonderful adventure. You go Austin!

Leave a Reply

